COVID-19 Information for West Virginia
The purpose of this page is to provide apartment industry professionals with an overview of the issues affecting our industry with regard to the COVID-19 pandemic. The page is intended for informational purposes only and does not constitute, and should not be construed as, legal advice. This resource is not intended to provide a mandatory standard of care for the industry.
State and Local Affiliates
Please remember to use your state or local apartment association as the primary resource for the most up-to-date information on your responsibilities. Find your local affiliate.
State Legal and Regulatory Information
We highly suggest you contact a local attorney before you decide to initiate an eviction action against a resident in the current environment as overlaying federal, state and county laws or restrictions on the judicial process may apply. This includes: issuing a notice to vacate, initiating any eviction-related action, or assessing fees or penalties on residents for nonpayment of rent or other lease violations. In addition to the below, you can access NAA's statutory information on late fees, eviction laws and other policy issues.
West Virginia continues to reopen elements of its economy through a combination of statewide and county-by-county orders. Industry specific guidance for reopening lodging facilities, short-term rentals, rental properties, and other housing units can be found here.
Face Mask Mandate
Governor Justice began requiring the wearing of face masks in confined indoor spaces for persons age nine and older.
State of Emergency
Governor Jim Justice declared a state of emergency on March 13, 2020.
No statewide eviction moratorium for West Virginia.
Rental Assistance/Housing Provider Assistance
No statewide emergency rental assistance for West Virginia.
No rent freeze is in effect at the state or local level. West Virginia is a Dillon’s rule state, meaning all authorities granted to local government are determined by the state government. See American Legislative Exchange Council for more details.
Under West Virginia Code § 46A-6J-3, it is unlawful to sell goods or services, to individuals in an area declared under emergency, at a price more than 10 percent the average price of that good or service 10 days prior to the emergency declaration. Rental housing is defined within the statutory language as services covered under this regulation.