Awards Programs

The National Apartment Association (NAA) offers award programs that recognize the very best individuals, companies, and organizations. It is our honor to recognize those who have excelled in the rental housing industry. 

NAA's Top Employers

This awards program identifies member organizations that encourage employee engagement and performance and foster collaborative and innovative work environments. It pays tribute to the employees and their hard work, which directly contributes to the success of suppliers, management companies and the entire rental housing industry. The much-anticipated announcement of the 2024 winners was made on May 21, 2024, view press release here.

If you would like to be contacted to submit a nomination in the future, please sign up to be notified.

Learn More


NAA Excellence Awards

Each year, NAA's Excellence Awards, or Excels, recognize excellence and leadership in the rental housing industry. Excels celebrate communities, industry professionals, and affiliated apartment associations who make unique contributions to the industry. For the winners, receiving an Excels award represents milestones and outstanding achievement. Individuals and companies can enter from five award categories to be selected for an NAA Excellence Award. Learn more about the 2024 Excellence Awards winners here

If you would like to be contacted to apply in the future, please sign up to be notified.

Learn More


20 on the Rise

NAA’s 20 on the Rise celebrates the brightest rising stars with 10 years or less experience in the rental housing industry. These industrious career builders have already made great professional achievements in their careers and have the potential to go far. 

If you would like to be contacted to apply in the future, please sign up to be notified.

Learn More


NAA Government Affairs' Advocacy365 Advocate of the Year Award

“If you don't get involved in issues that affect you, then you have no right to complain." — Malcolm Bennett, 2014 Advocate of the Year.

NAA Government Affairs will recognize the U.S. rental housing industry’s top advocate this fall.  All those that are actively affiliated with NAA and the rental housing industry are eligible to win this major award which honors one individual's outstanding contributions to industry advocacy at the local, state and national levels.

Whether by meeting with your elected officials, sending a letter or making a phone call to your members of Congress, grassroots advocacy is vital to NAA’s political efforts.

The Advocacy365 Advocate of the Year will be announced at the Assembly of Delegates meeting in November and the winner featured in a subsequent issue of units Magazine. 

Minimum Criteria - Federal

  • Attend the NAA Advocate Conference
  • Participate in Lobby Day
  • Attend two of the following: town hall meeting, tele-town hall meeting, meet with your members of Congress during a constituent work week or the August congressional recess, or conduct a property tour with your members of Congress
  • Take action on a legislative action alert by conducting a business call, or sending an email, letter or fax to your representative or senator

Minimum Criteria - State/Local

  • Attend two of the following: a city council, county board of supervisors or state legislature committee meeting
  • Participate in a State Legislative Day event; take action on a local or state issue by calling or sending an email, letter or fax to your city or county councilman or state legislator

Above and Beyond Criteria

  • Recruit two industry members to Lobby Day meetings or during a constituent work week or August congressional recess
  • Author a published op-ed or letter to the editor on a local, state or federal industry issue
  • Speak on behalf of the industry at a town hall meeting or local meeting.

You may nominate yourself or someone you know. Announcements about deadlines and how to submit nominations will be distributed through communications channels, such as Affiliate Update and Apartment Advocate Pro. For more nomination information, send an email to [email protected]. Paid staff of the National Apartment Association and any NAA affiliated organization are not eligible.

Nomination Form


Lifetime Achievement Award

The NAA Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes the contributions of our Supplier Partners and our Association Executives for their "long-term history of exemplary national service and accomplishments to the National Apartment Association and the rental housing industry. The criteria for nominations are exemplary service to NAA and the rental housing industry overall, above and beyond that of the normal member volunteer: length of time in the industry is not a determining factor but is a consideration. 

NAA is now accepting nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award in both the supplier and Association Executive category.

Deadline to submit a nomination is August 15, 2024

Questions, contact Leanne Shroeder for more information.

Submit a Nomination


NAA Hall of Fame

The NAA Hall of Fame recognizes owners/managers from the rental housing industry for their long-term history of exemplary national service and accomplishments to the National Apartment Association and the Rental Housing Industry. Eligible candidates must be a former or current member of NAA and a current or former owner/manager from the Rental Housing Industry.

Congratulations to 2024 Hall of Fame inductee, Mike Holmes.  

For more information or questions, please contact Leanne Shroeder.

1987: Thomas Mahaffey

1988: Robert Ross (deceased) and Roland Freeman, CPM, CAPS, CRE, FRICS

1989: William H. Shane, Jr.

1990: Barbara MacManus

1991: Steven D. Ira (deceased)

2000: Robert L. Johnston, CAPS. CPM

2002: James P. Hepfner, CAPS, CPM

2003: Julian (Perry) Hap Hunnicutt, III, CAPS

2005: Henry Hirsch, CAPS

2008: Anthony V. Pusateri, CAPS, CPM, CSM (deceased)

2009: Deane H. Dolben, CAPS

2010: Phil H. Carlock, CAPS, CPM

2011: Ron Shelton, CAPS

2012: Tom Shuler, CAPS and Jerry Warshaw, CAPS, CPM

2013: David B. Watkins, CAPS, CPA

2015: Jerry Wilkinson, CAPS, CCIM

2016: William (Bill) Wollinger                                 

2017: None Awarded

2018: Alexandra Jackiw, CPM, CAPS

2019: None Awarded

2020: Brad Williams, CPM (deceased)

2021: Tom Beaton, CAPS, CPM, 

2022: Cindy Clare, CAPS, CPM 

2023: Mike Gorman, CAPS, CCIM, CPM

2024: Mike Holmes