Fair Housing: Indiana

This page is intended for informational purposes only and does not constitute, and should not be construed as, legal advice. This page is not intended to provide a mandatory standard of care for the industry.  

On these pages, you will find information about the protected classes in each state’s fair housing law as well as the cities and counties in the state’s three largest city or metropolitan areas that enforce additional fair housing protections. We highlight source of income protections, where applicable, that could substantially impact industry operations. Please see the footnotes. NAA also has resources on the federal fair housing protections that apply nationwide.

We are currently in the process of optimizing NAA’s Fair Housing Protected Class Resources. If you do not see a jurisdiction of interest, please reach out to the NAA Government Affairs Team at [email protected].

Information on this page is current as of March 2022.

Indiana Protected Classes

(State of Indiana Code Annotated § 22-9.5-5-1)

  • Race

  • Color

  • National Origin

  • Religion

  • Sex

  • Familial Status

  • Disability

  • Ancestry1

1This protected class was found in a local fair housing source, not statutory code.

PLEASE NOTE: Indiana Code §36-1-3-8.5 states that a unit may not adopt or enforce an ordinance that requires or would have the effect of requiring a landlord to participate in: (1) a Section 8 program of the federal Housing Act of 1937 (42 U.S.C. 1437f); or (2) a similar program concerning housing. This preempts any local source of income protections.

Evansville Metro Area

(Vanderburgh County Code Ch 9.04.040 – 9.04.080)

This jurisdiction emphasizes enforcement of federal and state protected classes.

Evansville Protected Classes

This jurisdiction emphasizes enforcement of federal, state, and county protected classes.

Indianapolis Metro Area

This jurisdiction emphasizes enforcement of federal and state protected classes.

(Indianapolis Municipal Code § 581-101)

Indianapolis is consolidated with Marion County. In addition to enforcement of federal, state, and county protected classes, this jurisdiction also includes the following protected classes:

  • Ancestry
  • Age
  • Sexual orientation
  • Gender Identity
  • Veteran Status