You are here

NAA Celebrates Excellence Award Winners

Nicole Ryan
[email protected]

ARLINGTON, VA | November 6, 2020 – The National Apartment Association (NAA) honored its 2020 NAA Excellence Awards winners at a virtual ceremony during the group’s annual trade show, APTvirtual. The annual awards program recognizes excellence and leadership in the rental housing industry and celebrates communities, industry professionals and affiliated apartment associations that make unique contributions to the industry.

This year’s Excellence Award recipients were:

Affiliate Awards

Affiliate Advocacy – Apartment Association of Greater Orlando and Florida Apartment Association

Affiliate Member Engagement – Washington Multi-Family Housing Association

Chris Christenson Association Executive of the Year – Joshua Gold, CAE, CMP, Florida Apartment Association

Outstanding Service to an Affiliate – Sheri Druckman, CAPS, Washington Multi-Family Housing Association

Affiliate Community Service – Apartment Association of Metro Denver

Community Awards

Community of the Year, Specialty (Military Housing) – Seaside Village, Lincoln Military Housing, Oceanside, California

Community of the Year, Specialty (Student Housing) – College Town, Greystar Real Estate Partners, Tallahassee, Florida

Community of the Year, Specialty (Affordable Housing) – Dauner Haus Apartments, Continental Management, Fenton, Michigan

Community of the Year, Small (Less than 150 units) – The Channel Bowen Apartments, Pegasus Residential, Hanahan, South Carolina

Community of the Year, Large (More than 150 units) – Kingsley Apartments, Charter Properties, Inc., Fort Mill, South Carolina

Diversity & Inclusion Award

Diversity & Inclusion – Berkshire Residential Investments, Boston, Massachusetts

Innovation Awards

Sustainable Living Innovation – Plaza Verde, American Campus Communities, Irvine, California

Technology Innovation – View 34, UDR, New York, New York

NAA Individual Awards

Independent Rental Owner (IRO) of the Year – Kevin Chalmers, IROP, CAPS, Legacy REI Group, Irving, Texas

NAA Rising Star Award – Callaghan Wise, CAMT, Smart Apartment Solutions, Ann Arbor, Michigan

NAAEI Awards

Certified Apartment Manager (CAM) of the Year – Staci Hasman, CAMT, AIME, CAM, AMLI Residential, Addison, Texas

Certified Apartment Maintenance Technician (CAMT) of the Year – Christopher Tinsley, CAMT, AIME, Mid-America Apartment Communities, Germantown, Tennessee

Certified Apartment Portfolio Supervisor – Doris Granger, CAMT, AIME, NALP, CAM, CAPS, Carroll Management, Atlanta, Georgia

National Apartment Leasing Professional (NALP) of the Year – Megan Orser, NALP, Smart Apartment Solutions, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Certified Apartment Supplier (CAS) of the Year – Blaise Spitaleri, CAS, Gemstar Construction, Houston, Texas

Apartment Career & Education Industry Practitioner Award – Jesse Miller, NALP, CAM, CAPS, Greystar Real Estate Partners, Portland, Oregon

Apartment Career & Education Industry Educator Award – Michael Markus, CAMT, AIME, CAM, BRG Apartments, Cincinnati, Ohio

Anthony V. Pusateri Apartment Career Promotion Award – Greater Charlotte Apartment Association, Charlotte, North Carolina

Supplier Awards

National Suppliers Council Achievement Award – Kenneth J. Bohan, The Liberty Group, Houston, Texas

Supplier Sales Professional of the Year – Abbie Huffman, Rent Manager, Cincinnati, Ohio




About NAA
The National Apartment Association (NAA) serves as the leading voice and preeminent resource through advocacy, education and collaboration on behalf of the rental housing industry. As a federation of 152 affiliates, NAA encompasses over 85,000 members representing more than 10 million apartment homes globally. NAA believes that rental housing is a valuable partner in every community that emphasizes integrity, accountability, collaboration, community responsibility, inclusivity and innovation. To learn more, visit