You are here

NAA, NAAEI Announce 2016 NAA Excellence Award Winners

2016 NAA Excellence Award Winners

Contact: Lauren Boston at 703-797-0678

ARLINGTON, Va. / May 23, 2016 — 

The National Apartment Association (NAA) is pleased to announce the 2016 NAA Excellence Awards winners. The annual awards program—formerly known as the PARAGON awards—recognize excellence and leadership in the apartment housing industry, celebrating builders, industry professionals and affiliated apartment associations that make unique industry contributions.

Winners will receive their NAA Excellence Award at a ceremony during the 2016 NAA Education Conference & Exposition on Saturday, June 18, in San Francisco. The NAA Community of the Year, chosen among the communities that won category-specific NAA Excellence Awards awards listed below, will be announced during the breakfast. 

Builders, Owners & Developers Awards

Best Community, 1-5 Years (Up to 150 units) -- Cathedral Commons, Bozzuto, Washington, D.C.

Best Community, 1-5 Years (More than 150 units) -- Spyglass Rental Community, Perimeter Realty, Jacksonville, Florida

Best Community, 5-20 Years (More than 150 units) -- The Circle at Hermann Park, Greystar, Houston, Texas

Best Community, 20+ Years (Up to 150 units) -- Spring Brook Lofts, Star Pacific Capital Management / Relik Realty, Houston, Texas

Best Community, 20+ Years (More than 150 units) -- Arbor Lakes Apartments, Marquette Management, Inc., Arlington Heights, Illinois

Best Community, Specialty (Affordable Housing) -- St. Michael’s Veterans Center, Yarco Company, Inc., Kansas City, Missouri

Best Community, Specialty (Military Housing) -- Tierra Vista Communities at Peterson Air Force Base, WinnResidential Military Housing Services, Colorado Springs, Colorado

R.O.E. (Return on Energy) Awards

Energy Retrofit Award -- ECO Modern Flats, Specialized Real Estate Group, Fayetteville, Arkansas

Energy Reduction Award (Common Area--Mid-Rise/Low-Rise) -- Heritage House, WinnCompanies, Newburyport, Massachusetts

NAA Individual Awards

Independent Rental Owner (IRO) of the Year (100 units or less) -- Phillip Basarabescu, Bellestone Villas Apartments, Houston, Texas

Independent Rental Owner (IRO) of the Year (101-500 units) -- Mark & Teri DaRonch and Jake Leatham, Mapletree Gardens Apartments, Houston, Texas

Chris Christenson Association Executive of the Year -- Jim Wiard, Washington Multi-Family Housing Association, Renton, Washington

National Suppliers Council Achievement Award -- Eric Overhage, Multifamily Services Group LLC, Alpharetta, Georgia

NAAEI Designate Awards

Professional Designate of the Year -- Chad Christian, NALP, CAM, CAPS, Winthrop Management, Houston, Texas

Certified Apartment Manager (CAM) of the Year -- Michael Garcia, CAM, CAPS, Capstone Real Estate Services, Austin, Texas

Apartment Maintenance Technician (CAMT) of the Year -- Thomas Baird, CAM, CAMT, Winthrop Management, Conroe, Texas

National Apartment Leasing Professional (NALP) of the Year -- Carla Katigbak, NALP, Chestnut Hill Realty, Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts

Certified Apartment Supplier (CAS) of the Year -- Ed Schell, CAS, HD Supply, Denver, Colorado

Affiliate Awards

Communications Award -- Apartment Association of Greater Orlando 

Community Service Award -- Apartment Association of Greater Wichita 

Education Award -- Indiana Apartment Association

Government Affairs Award -- Florida Apartment Association

Membership Development Award -- Houston Apartment Association 

A list of all winners and details about each will appear in the June 2016 issue of units Magazine.