You are here

COVID-19 Information for Arkansas

The purpose of this page is to provide apartment industry professionals with an overview of the issues affecting our industry with regard to the COVID-19 pandemic. The page is intended for informational purposes only and does not constitute, and should not be construed as, legal advice. This resource is not intended to provide a mandatory standard of care for the industry.

State and Local Affiliates

Please remember to use your state or local apartment association as the primary resource for the most up-to-date information on your responsibilities. Find your local affiliate.

State Legal and Regulatory Information

We highly suggest you contact a local attorney before you decide to initiate an eviction action against a resident in the current environment as overlaying federal, state and county laws or restrictions on the judicial process may apply. This includes: issuing a notice to vacate, initiating any eviction-related action, or assessing fees or penalties on residents for nonpayment of rent or other lease violations. In addition to the below, you can access NAA's statutory information on late fees, eviction laws and other policy issues.

Reopening Order

Arkansas is currently in Phase 2 of its reopening plan. Under Phase 2, capacity limits are placed on businesses and limits are set on public indoor and outdoor gatherings.

Face Mask Mandate

Governor Asa Hutchinson issued an Executive Proclamation requiring every person in the state to wear a face covering in all indoor environments where they are exposed to non-household members. The order will remain in effect until termination of the state of emergency.

State of Emergency

Governor Asa Hutchinson declared a public health emergency on March 11, 2020.

Eviction

As of March 18, 2020, eviction proceedings have resumed remotely in the state. Plaintiffs must certify that the property at issue is not covered by the CARES Act moratorium.

Rental Assistance/Housing Provider Assistance

No statewide emergency rental assistance for Arkansas.

Rent Freeze

No rent freeze is in effect at the state level. Local rent regulation is preempted by Arkansas Code: § 14-16-601

Price-Gouging Law

Under Arkansas Code, § 4.88.303, it is unlawful for any person to sell any consumer food item, goods, or service, including transient housing and rental housing, for a price of more than 10 percent above the price charged for that good or service immediately prior to the proclamation of emergency. 

Business Liability Protections

On June 15, 2020, Gov. Hutchinson established protections for businesses against civil liability. Under the rules, businesses are protected against civil liability claims resulting from customer or employee exposure to COVID-19 while on premises if the business follows applicable federal, state, and local safety guidelines. 

Local Legal and Regulatory Information

Conway

Rental Assistance/Housing Provider Assistance

Seven local non-profits have streamlined the process for families who need rental assistance due to COVID-19. A community fund has been set up at First Security Bank to house donations and an allocation committee is in place to distribute funds based on need over the next 60 days.

Families in need of rental assistance can call the central hotline at 501-358-6960 to find out if they are eligible and start the application process. Each application will be processed on a case-by-case basis according to need.

Little Rock

Eviction

The Metropolitan Housing Alliance has announced that public housing residents and Section 8 tenants in Little Rock will not be evicted during this time period. The housing agency will work with property management companies on rent forbearance.